Sponsored Ads – See your ad here.
Sponsored Ads – See your ad here.

Phang Nga Bay Reviews

27 people rated Phang Nga Bay 5 / 5 5 / 5

|

A wonderful area off the coast of Phuket, interspersed with abrupt eruptions of tall limestone islands, most topped with thick and lush dark green vegetation. Not-with-standing all the points of interest and historically significant sites Phang Nga Bay is worth a visit simply to steep yourself in the unique and beautiful scene.

Latest Phang Nga Bay reviews
Phang Nga Bay Map

"Outstanding"
Voted 5 / 5 5 / 5
Review by: yalish1972 on March 12, 2014

I am quite happy that we took a full day tour of Phang Nga Bay. The rock formations are amazing and the scenery is awesome. Next time, I visit Phuket, I would opt for the sunset dinner cruise.

"Stunning"
Voted 4 / 5 4 / 5
Review by: lassie12 on March 9, 2014

This place is simply amazing. Not to be missed out when one is in phuket. Howver, check out the tour prices before choosing one.

"Limestone and great views"
Voted 5 / 5 5 / 5
Review by: missmelodic007 on March 5, 2014

After travelling around, we have realised that Phang Nga bay truly symbolises the grandeur of the souths landscape. Its beauty derives from the 350 ft high imposing limestone stacks riisng from the sea and standing sentinel to the numerous tunnels and sea caves in the area . This is the product of a mountain chain which runs from Thailand to china. Mangrove forests are found at the northern end of the bay with remnants of eroded limestones. One must take a boat cruise to visit the james bond island and Kho Phanak and be there to watch the rising sun or the setting sun – each one equally beautiful. Beware: It is crowded.

"A dream place"
Voted 5 / 5 5 / 5
Review by: mike822072 on February 23, 2014

This is one of the best places to go for a beach holiday. It is cheap and has some of the best views. We hired a boat from a guy called sammy and had immense fun exploring the islands in detail. A great way to destress on a holiday.

"Great day"
Voted 5 / 5 5 / 5
Review by: charlottemac on February 23, 2014

Today we went on a tour of James bond island. Previously we had been at Phi phi island but were unhappy with it but we enjoyed this trip immensely. The highlight was the canoeing part. One must take this trip.

"One of the great places to go on a day trip from phuket"
Voted 5 / 5 5 / 5
Review by: pennymany on February 13, 2014

One needs to start early for this trip. Pickup time is 7:30 am, from there it takes about 1 hr to reach the east coast of Phuket. From there a 1 hr boat trip to go to the first island, in total taking about 4 hrs for island hopping and having lunch. Then its back to the bus for the 1 hr ride back to the hotel which you reach about 6pm. all this travelling is well worth it though as the scenery in Phang Nga Bay is simply awesome. This reminds me of Halong bay in vietnam and Guilin in China, having similar limestone islands rising to 100ft heights or more. The most spectacular part about these islands is that they have these wonderful caves which can be reached by kayaks. The caves are of different types, while some are dark, others are huge empty spaces with a collapsed roof which essentially makes the island look like a rock cylinder to be reached via a sea cave. In thai, these caves are called as Hongs. The water is a bit muddy, had it been transparent and clear, it would have been perfect. A few tips to go there: 1. You should take a speedboat to reach the island as it means that you have more time exploring the sea caves. 2. Make it clear with your travel agent beforehand about the number of people boarding the speedboat. If there are more than 25 then the boat could become crowded. Also if there are more people then you would get less time on the kayaks. 3. You neednt carry snorkelling gear with you. But if you wish, you can swim at an island, close to the east coast of phuket on your way back. 4. Carry change with you to tip the boatmen. 5. Have lunch at the floating village of panyi. 6. Check the weather forecast before you embark on your trip. Bad weather can cause you a lot of discomfort. 7. Plan your visit according to the tide. if the tide is high you maynot be able to enter some caves while if the tide is low you might be too far from the sea caves. 8. If you are claustrophobic then be prepared as in certain caves you have to lie down low and enter. Some of the caves are very small too. 9. Wear comfortable shoes which provide comfort all day long.

"It was not the correct time"
Voted 3 / 5 3 / 5
Review by: robinson1968 on February 9, 2014

When i reached the place it was raining so the water was a bit murky. I also committed the mistake of going with a large group , around 40 people in a boat. Didint quite enjoy it. Maybe with a smaller group and on a clear day it would have been better.

"Wonderful place in phuket"
Voted 5 / 5 5 / 5
Review by: steffenator on February 4, 2014

We were undecided about which to choose , Phi phi or phang Nga as we diidnt ahve much time in phuket. Finally decided on phang nga and have no regrets about it. We chose a cruise instead of a speedboat. After our tour guide picked us up from the hotel we travelled for about an hour to reach the coast. Our first stop was bat cave. One had to take rafts to go inisde. To add to the thrill, it started raining and waves began splashing – got a real adrenaline rush. The next stop was another cave but here the sea was calm. After that we stopped to swim, of course with our life jackets on. Post simming we had lunch on the boat and then went to visit the last island of the day – the james bond island. We returned to the mainland around 5:30 pm. On the whole, had a memorable experience.

Write a review on Phang Nga Bay
These reviews are the subjective opinions of their respective authors and not of this site or any WishToTravel.com partners.
Sponsored Ads – See your ad here.
Welcome Guest!
Login | Register
Sponsored Ads – See your ad here
Sponsored Ads – See your ad here.
Latest Reviews
Premium Outlet Phuket
Average rating 1.5 / 5 from 5 reviews
"Would never go back"
rating
Rawai Beach
Average rating 4.5 / 5 from 11 reviews
"A fishing village unsuitable for swimming"
rating
Central Festival Phuket
Average rating 3 / 5 from 11 reviews
"Okay if you like shopping malls"
rating
Bangla Road
Average rating 3.5 / 5 from 23 reviews
"Bangla road"
rating